Project Vienna Central Station
The Vienna Central Station project with its size of 109 ha is actually the most important development project of the Austrian capital. The issue is not only the complete restructuring of the railway hub of Vienna, but the development of a whole new quarter.
The new central station links the trans-european railway axes - thus evolving Vienna from a railway terminus to a turntable.

Read more about the project.

© ÖBB-Infrastruktur AG

The area of the old freight terminal that is no longer needed by the Austrian Railway Company (ÖBB) is going to be available for city development. The new quarter, as located close to Vienna's city centre, gives place for 550,000 m2 of office space, 5000 new flats and a park of 8 ha. Read more about urban development


cityscope is documenting the emergence of the central station and the development of the new quarter with two High Resolution Panoramic Systems.

 
Architectural Documentation

Camera 1 - telecommunication tower "Arsenal": Overview of the development area from the southeast

Camera 2 - "Wiener Zeitung" building: The area of the former Südbahnhof (South Station) at Wiedener Gürtel
Panoramic Camera System

In this documentation project cityscope for the first time employs a new picture acquisition technology: The Swiss manufacturer Seitz's "roundshot" system generates a high resolution panoramic image in a single sequence of operation. The panoramic scanner features a sturdy, outdoor-compatible construction. The system provides a high-quality picture of up to 360 degrees with a vertical resolution of 2048 pixel.

More information about cityscope's camera technology..

cityscope implemented the integration of the roundshot system into a fully automated documentation process - under computer control panoramic pictures are recorded in an hourly cycle, formatted and transmitted to the client's webserver. Here you find the online presentation of the Vienna Central Station panoramic documentation:

Camera 1: Project area

Camera 2: Südbahnhof area

Realisation

cityscope GmbH Berlin, 2009-2016
Client: ÖBB-Infrastruktur AG

Gesamtprojekt Hauptbahnhof Wien
Das Projekt Haupt­bahnhof Wien mit einer Größe von 109 ha ist die für Wien derzeit bedeu­tendste Infra­struktur­maßnahme. Es geht bei diesem Projekt nicht nur um die kom­plette Neu­gestaltung des Eisen­bahn-Verkehrs­knotens Wien, sondern um die Ent­wicklung eines gesamten Stadt­viertels.
Der neue Haupt­bahnhof verknüpft die trans­europäischen Haupt-Eisen­bahn­achsen - Wien wird im inter­nationalen Bahn­verkehr von der End­station zur Dreh­scheibe.
Mehr zum Bahnkonzept

© ÖBB-Infrastruktur AG

Die in Zukunft von den ÖBB nicht länger benötigten Flächen des alten Frachten­bahn­hofs sollen der Stadt­ent­wicklung dienen. Durch die Schaf­fung eines attrak­tiven neuen Stadt­teils nahe dem Zentrum Wiens werden Büroflächen im Ausmaß von 550.000 m², 5.000 neuen Wohnungen und ein 8 ha großer Park entstehen. Mehr zur Stadtentwicklung

cityscope doku­mentiert die Ent­wick­lung des Haupt­bahnhofs und des neuen Stadt­quartiers mit hoch­auf­lösenden Pan­orama­systemen von zwei Standorten aus.

 
Architektur- Dokumentation

Kamera 1 - Fernmeldeturm Arsenal: Überblick über das Gesamtgelände von Südosten aus

Kamera 2 - Haus der Wiener Zeitung: Bereich des ehemaligen Südbahnhofs, Wiedener Gürtel
Zeitraffer
Panorama-Kamerasystem

cityscope setzt bei dem Dokumentationsprojekt zum ersten mal eine neue Kameratechnik ein: Das von der Schweizer Firma Seitz entwickelte roundshot System erzeugt ein hochauflösendes Panoramabild in einem einzigen Arbeitsgang. Der Panoramascanner ist robust konstruiert und outdoor-tauglich. Das System liefert ein hochauflösendes Bild mit bis zu 360° Blickwinkel bei einer Vertikale von 2048 Pixeln. Mehr ....

cityscope hat die Integration der roundshot Aufnahmetechnik in einen vollautomatischen Dokumentationsprozess realisiert - die Panoramabilder werden in stündlichem Turnus erstellt, automatisch formatiert und auf den Server des Kunden übermittelt.... Und hier geht es zur Präsentation der ÖBB:

Kamera 1: Panorama Projektgebiet

Kamera 2: Panorama Südbahnhof Areal

Realisation
cityscope GmbH Berlin, 2009-2016
Auftraggeber: ÖBB-Infrastruktur AG
Projektleitung: Martin Potthoff
Kamera-Elektronik: Reinhard Ludwig
Kamera-Mechanik: Uwe Blechschmidt
Kamera-Steuerung: Ulf Kypke
Kamerasystem: Seitz Roundshot D2HD